Cape Alums on Hall of Fame Ballot

by Andrew in

The 2009 Hall of Fame ballot for the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) includes two cousins and Cape alums: Mo Vaughn (Wareham '87-'88) and Greg Vaughn (Cotuit '84-'85). Results of the election will be announced on January 12, 2009. Red Sox great Jim Rice and stolen base king Rickey Henderson are expected to be voted in. Mo was inducted to the CCBL Hall of Fame in 2000, was AL MVP in 1995, and a 3-time MLB All-Star. He was part of the 1988 CCBL Champion Wareham Gatemen and one of the many future MLB players in the special 1988 CCBL season.

Greg is a 4-time MLB All-Star and contributed to Cotuit's 1984 and 1985 Cape League championships.

Other former Cape players eligible for the Hall for the first time, but not on the ballot include: Mike Bordick (Y-D '86), Joe Girardi (Cotuit '84), Mark Guthrie (Harwich '86), Charles Nagy (Harwich '87), Denny Neagle (Y-D '88), and Craig Paquette (Brewster '88).