Y-D Wins Eighth Championship

by Andrew

The 2016 CCBL season wrapped up on Saturday, August 13th as the Yarmouth-Dennis Red Sox defeated the Falmouth Commodores in game 3 of the best-of-3 series. Amanda Cox has the official write-up on capecodbaseball.org. Will Geoghegan has a detailed wrap on Right Field Fog.

The Red Sox have now won the last three seasons, which hasn't happened on Cape since the Kettleers accomplished that feat in the 70s.

Yarmouth-Dennis is now the 2nd winningest team in the modern era of the CCBL with 8 championships, behind Cotuit's 16 championships. 

Falmouth was attempting their first championship since 1980, and were hoping to get the win in front of their home crowd. The Commodores' 36 year drought is the longest in the Cape Cod Baseball League. The Hyannis Harbor Hawks have a 25 year drought, last winning in 1991 with a team featuring Rich Aurilia and Jason Varitek.